Florida Bodily Injury Liability Insurance
Does Florida Require Bodily Injury Liability Insurance?
Unfortunately, Florida is a state that does not require bodily injury liability coverage in most instances. Bodily injury liability coverage is that coverage found on automobile insurance policies that will cover the at-fault vehicle’s owner or driver for damages caused to others as a result of a car accident. Many states outside of Florida require that its drivers carry bodily injury coverage. For example, every driver in New York must carry a minimum of $25,000 per injured person, up to $50,000 maximum per accident.
As a New Port Richey auto accident attorney with nearly 20 years experience, I can tell you that having bodily injury liability coverage is vitally important. If you or anyone using your car causes an auto accident that results in personal injuries to third persons, then without sufficient bodily injury liability coverage you could be personally liable for compensating the injured persons. Florida bodily injury liability coverage not only provides a source of revenue to cover damages caused by automobile negligence, it also requires the insurance company to pay for your legal defense if you are sued as a result of injuring others.
Equally important is the need to carry Florida uninsured motorist coverage. As I’ve told countless people whom have come to my New Port Richey office, “It is more important to have uninsured motorist coverage in Florida than most other states.” The reason for this advice is that persons injured in a New Port Richey, Florida accident may not be able to collect from the negligent party because, as stated above, liability coverage is not required. Florida uninsured motorist coverage will protect you and your loved ones if you are injured by the automobile negligence of a third person without the optional Florida bodily injury liability coverage.
The amount of bodily injury coverage you should carry depends on several things. While some might advise you that you should only carry higher limits of Florida bodily injury coverage if you have significant assets to protect, I must disagree with this logic. The amount of Florida bodily injury coverage you purchase is also tied to the issue of how much you want to protect your ability to collect through an uninsured motorist claim. In Florida, you cannot purchase greater uninsured motorist coverage than bodily injury liability coverage. Therefore, if you want to assure yourself that you will be able to potentially collect at least $100,000.00 from an uninsured or underinsured motorist, then you must purchase at least $100,000.00 in bodily injury liability coverage.
If you or a loved one have been injured in a New Port Richey, Florida auto accident, my law firm is in Downtown New Port Richey and I offer free consultations. My promise is this: Your consultation will be with me, and you will receive personal service. I am also available by phone, or to come to your location in New Port Richey and the entire Tampa Bay area.
About the Author
Million Dollar Advocates Forum
Multi-Million Dollar Advocates Forum
The Top Trial Lawyers